World Test Championship Final: Historic time for cricket fans!

World Test Championship Final: Why everyone is hyped!
Spread the love

The idea that was initiated in 2008 became reality two years ago when Test Cricket Championship’s complicated Process was declared to the world. Now, we are about to see that World Test Championship final which will be held on 18 June at Hampshire Bowl in Southampton, England.

India, which is currently a Number two ranked Test team, will square off against New Zealand, which is the number one Test side. This Championship final is being termed as the Single most Important test Match ever played. Test Cricket was invented in 1877. England and Australia were founders. After that, Test cricket evolved with time. Now, the popularity of T-20 cricket is on the rise which could prove to be a threat to Test cricket’s future. Realizing that, ICC announced World Test Championship two years ago to re-ignite passion and love for Test cricket. Initially, the Test championship final was supposed to happen at Lords. But due to the Pandemic, it was shifted to Southampton.

What is the Prize for the test cricket championship?

The Prize money related to championship was announced on 14 June. The winner of the Test championship will be rewarded with 1.6 Million Dollars and an ICC Test Mace. But the real prize for the winner is not money or mace, it is glory and dominance in the world of cricket. That is why both teams will try their best to win the first-ever Test championship.

How World Test Championship Final will change Test Cricket forever:

There is no doubt that This final of the Test championship is the most important test ever. The hype is real. More than a billion people are expected to see this final. This will surely revive the interest in Test cricket- the toughest format of cricket. Moreover, it will also result in millions of dollars earning. Thus, both fans and broadcasters are happy.

Indian and Newzealand captains in World test Championship
World test Championship Final will submit either one of them as one of the all time greats

Indian Batsman Pujara said, “This Test Championship final will be the survival of Test cricket.”

Why World Test championship Idea was scrapped in 2008:

In 2008, to re-develop interest in Tests, a test championship formula was initiated by ICC. However, Cricket Boards gave a cold response and broadcasters too weren’t in favor of this. The reason? Broadcasters gave the reason that if India couldn’t manage to get a place in the final, there won’t be much revenue generation. India, a country of 1.3 Billion people, has also the world’s richest cricket board. Moreover, the process to qualify was complicated. It still is, but think of it as a miracle that the idea was approved and came into effect two years ago.

Weather Forecast between World Test Championship Final:

There is slightly Bad news for cricket fans. The first day of the final will face heavy rain. It is highly unlikely that 90 overs will be bowled on the first day. Continuous interruption is inevitable on the first day. But the good news is ICC has fixed the sixth day as a backup day if rain weeps on the first five days. This should make up time for bad weather.

Conditions of Southampton for India and New Zealand:

Due to the heatwave in England, the Southampton pitch was dry. This would have favored Indian spinners. But on 17 June, rain falls on the ground. This has caused conditions to be damp and air to be cold- just like New Zealand’s climate. Thus, conditions are now in favor of New Zealand.


Indian Squad:

Ahead of the finals, India has announced its playing eleven.

Virat Kohli (captain), Shubham Gill, Rohit Sharma, Pujara, Rahane, Rishab Pant, Jadeja, Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, and Bumrah.

New Zealand squad:

New Zealand hasn’t announced its Playing eleven yet. The 15-member squad includes:

Kane Williamson (Captain), Blundell, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Latham, Henry Nicholas, Ajaz Patel, BJ Watling, Will Young, Matt Henry, Jamieson, Conway, and de Grandhomme.

Both teams possess incredible talents. Both India and New Zealand Pace attacks fall under the Top 20 Bowlers category. India will have Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and Ishant Sharma as pace bowlers. New Zealand will have number two ranked Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, and Jamieson. Not only that, both teams have the best batting line up with Virat Kohli leading India’s batting charge and Kane Williamson leading New Zealand’s batting strength.

World Test Championship Final is indeed a historic occasion. Both teams know the importance of this test and will try their best to out-perform the opposite team. Let’s hope we get to see a thrilling test and no interruption from rain.

Also read: Mohammad Amir takes a U-turn on the Retirement decision.

About the Author:

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *