Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup | Venue, and Schedule

Spread the love

The T20 World Cup is all set and is about to start on October 17 in the UAE. So, all the teams are announcing their squad for the T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka has also selected and declared the Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup 2021. And Akila Dananjaya has been demoted to traveling reserves. Sri Lanka Squad is prepared to compete for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Firstly, the venue for the tournament was in India but then it has been shifted to the United Arab Emirates and OMAN due to the COVID-19 terror in the state.

Notably, the Sri Lanka T20 champions Team for World Cup 2014 could not qualify for the forthcoming T20 World Cup 2021. So, now they will go through a qualifier phase to play the tournament against the eligible squads. Sri Lanka had a big downfall in the international cricket community in the past. Also, they had been involved in several controversies. So now the Sri Lanka Squad for the T20 World Cup has to play hard to get a position in the international cricket community. Read this article to know all the information about the Sri Lanka Squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. 

Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup:

Sri Lanka Cricket Board has announced the Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup 2021. The selection committee has added five more players to the Sri Lanka T20 squad for the upcoming  World Cup 2021. These new players are Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Ashen Bandara, Lakshan Sandakan, and Ramesh Mendis. Lahiru Madushanka was earlier named in the T20 world cup but now he is not included due to an injury. Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka have been excluded from the squad.  They were banned for a year for not following the Covid-19 strategies on England tour in July. 

Kusal Perera has returned after an injury. So, Minod Bhanuka, who was playing in place of Kusal Perera also will also be out. Jayawickrama has been selected due to his incredible achievements in other hierarchies. He played well in the match against Bangladesh in April. He performed excellently by picking up 11 wickets in the tournament. Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep, and all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne will lead the fast bowling field. Four reserves will also travel with the squad as an injury shield. These reserves are Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, and Pulina Tharanga.

Sri Lanka Squad:

Dasun Shanaka (Captain)

Dhananjaya De Silva

Kusal Janith Perera

Dinesh Chandimal

Avishka Fernando

Bhanuka Rajapaksa

Charith Asalanka

Wanindu Hasaranga

Kamindu Mendis

Chamika Karunaratne

Nuwan Pradeep

Dushmantha Chameera

Praveen Jayawickrama

Maheesh Theekshana

Pathum Nissanka

Minod Bhanuka

Ashen Bandara

Lakshan Sandakan

Ramesh Mendis

Traveling Reserves:

Lahiru Kumara

Binura Fernando

Akila Dananjaya

Pulina Tharanga

Combating Teams against Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup in Qualifier Stage: 

Sri Lanka National Cricket Team has set in the Group A of the qualifier stage against the following teams:

  • Namibia National Cricket Team the 
  • Netherlands National Cricket Team 
  • Ireland National Cricket Team.

Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup — Captain, Vice-Captain, and Other Players: 

Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup
Sri Lanka Squad for T20 World Cup
Credit Image:

Sri Lanka is nowadays playing a white-ball series against South Africa.  And the victory will depend on their players’ execution in the South Africa T20 series. Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameeramajor are selected as skippers in the T20 World Cup. It has been announced that both Hasaranga and Chameera will also play alongside RCB in the UAE league of IPL 2021 and it will help them to proceed into the high-profile competition. While, Lahiru Kumara, Pulina Tharanga, Binura Fernando, and Akila Dananjaya are the traveling reserves for the match.

Sri Lanka had also played against India in July for a white-ball series. However, they failed in the ODI series but they got a great achievement in the T20 series 2021 against India. Moreover, Hasaranga will be the player of the match and hopefully, he will show his best for the Sri Lanka Victory in the T20 World Cup Tournament. Dinesh Chandimal has also returned to the squad for the T20 World Cup.  And his return would be a great notch for the success of the Sri Lanka team. 

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 Matches Schedule:

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 tournament has been scheduled. Moreover, the time, venue, combating squads against Sri Lanka, and dates are summarized below in the table. 

Sr. NoDateTeamsTime (Local)Venue 
1Monday, 18 OctoberSRI Lanka V Namibia18:00Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
2Wednesday, 20 October SRI LANKA V IRELAND18:00Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
3Friday, 22 October SRI LANKA V NETHERLANDS18:00Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 Matches Schedule


Sri Lanka Squad for the T20 World Cup has been announced. The squad includes Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama, Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Ashen Bandara, Lakshan Sandakan, and Ramesh Mendis. These players are good enough to give their best for the T20 World Cup 2021. 

Sri Lanka Squad is preparing well to win the T20 world cup 2021. And they’re hoping to get the victory too. Will Sri Lanka T20 Squad get success? Will they be able to get a position in the other qualified teams? Share your opinions in the comment box. Also, keep visiting the Naetaze website for the latest updates about the sports. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *