Ireland Team Squad and Schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Ireland Team Squad and Schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2021
⟶ Ireland Team Squad and Schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2021
Spread the love

Ireland Team Squad and Schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will be discussed here. The mega event of International Cricket Council Twenty20 will kick off on 17th October and the final match of this canopy competition will be played on 14th November 2021. From all over the world, 16 teams will participate in the ICC T20 World Cup. Ireland Team is also included in these teams. Here are all details about Ireland Team T20 Squad and the schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Ireland Team Squad for ICC T20 World Cup

Ireland has revealed a 15-man squad for their Men’s ICC T20 World Cup Campaign.

Uncapped Spinner Graham Kennedy is also included in Ireland Team Squad. Senior player Andrew Balbirnie will lead Team Ireland in this world-class event of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Gareth Delany has returned, but William McClintock has been left out. However, he recently made his International Debut against Zimbabwe has been left out.

“I think Gareth Delany coming back was a big factor. It’s not something that William McClintock has or has not done that has affected the decision. I thought the way he was managed through the South Africa series and being involved around the squad and the senior players were crucial to him in making his debut,”said, Chairman of National Men’s Selectors Andrew White.

“He did everything that was asked of him. But in terms of the balance of the squad, obviously, with Gareth Delany coming back in and then making sure we had the necessary spinners at our disposal for the conditions that we’re probably going to face in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah. IPL is coming up now, so we expect the pitches to be spinning ones and low and slow, so we had to consider that. Obviously, William was unfortunate to miss out,” added White.

Ireland T20 Squad for World Cup 2021

Cricket Ireland has announced their final 15-man squad on 8th October 2021 for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021, two days ahead of the closing date scheduled by ICC. Graham Ford will be the Head Coach of the team.

Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors, said: “It was always going to be a very difficult decision to reduce the squad from 18 to 15 – every player out in Dubai at the moment has proven their talent and deserved their chance. The three players who have missed out will still have a role to play in supporting the core squad, and stay on within the team bubble as cover in case of injury or illness“.

“Part of the selectors’ decision-making was around the conditions in both Abu Dhabi and Sharjah, but we also factored in (Head Coach) Graham Ford’s on-the-ground assessment of what he believes to be our most effective combination of players to win games of cricket.”

“We are confident that the squad of players selected has the ability and the determination to take us into the next round of the tournament, but ultimately it will be about putting together performances that are deserving of it. We wish Fordy and the lads all the best for the challenge ahead, and we’re sure they will do Irish cricket proud,” White added.

Ireland Cricket Team Players

Here is the list of Ireland Team Squad with reserve players for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021

  • Andrew Balbirnie (C)
  • Mark Adair
  • Curtis Campher
  • Gareth Delany
  • George Dockrell
  • Josh Little
  • Andrew McBrine
  • Kevin O’Brien
  • Neil Rock
  • Simi Singh
  • Paul Stirling
  • Harry Tector
  • Lorcan Tucker
  • Ben White and
  • Craig Young.

Reserve Players:

  • Shane Getkate
  • Graham Kennedy
  • Barry McCarthy
Ireland Team Squad
Andrew Balbirnie will lead Ireland Team Squad in ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Ireland T20 Matches Schedule 2021

Ireland is included in Group A that consists of the Netherlands, Sri Lanka and Namibia in Round 1st. They will have to end up as one of the top two sides to make it to the Super 12s. Before the beginning of Round 1, the Ireland Team will play two warm-up games against Papua New Guinea on 12th October and Bangladesh on 14th October. Team Ireland will also play the Netherlands on 18th October, Sri Lanka n 20th October and Namibia on 22nd October to qualify for the Super 12s Round.

TeamsVenuesDate and Time
Ireland vs the NetherlandsSheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, United Arab EmiratesOctober 18 2021 – 03:30 PM IST
Ireland vs Sri LankaSheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, United Arab EmiratesOctober 20 2021 – 07:30 PM IST
Ireland vs NamibiaSharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, United Arab EmiratesOctober 22 2021 – 03:30 PM IST
Ireland Team Squad Matches Schedule

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup | Groups and Rounds

Round 1: Group A consists of Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia
Round 1: Group B consists of Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman
Super 12s: Group 1 includes England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, A1 and B2
Super 12s: Group 2 includes India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, A2 and B


Ireland Team Squad has been revealed. Following players are included in the squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Neil Rock, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Ben White, Craig Young.

Team Ireland has shown good performance in the recent matches. This time, Team Ireland is going to play their first match against the Netherlands on 18th October 2021 in UAE. Andrew Balbirnie will be the captain of the Ireland Team. What do you think either Team Ireland will win the title this time or not? Let us know in the comment section.

England T20 World Cup Squad: Schedule, Venue & Winners List

Related Posts:

About the Author:

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *