Chennai super kings squad IPL 2021, team strength & schedule

CSK vs KKR 2021
⟶ Chennai super kings in IPL
Spread the love

Chennai Super Kings is one of the strongest teams of IPL due to its previous history and records. India Cements was the one who established Chennai Super Kings or CSK in 2008. And since then it is the highly prominent team in the Indian Premier League.  The Muthoot Group is also a contract partner of this team since 2018. Other shareholders of the CSK include SEVEN and Gulf lubricants. Both companies are under the ownership of team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. It was a brief history and fun facts about the CSK. Let’s come to the major details about Chennai super kings squad in IPL 2021. Also, read everything about its previous records and upcoming IPL match schedule.

Also read: Mumbai Indians in IPL 2021: Squad, Fixtures, and More!

Chennai super kings squad in IPL 2021

MS DhoniWicketkeeper
Ambati RayuduBatsman
KM AsifBowler
Dwayne BravoAll Rounder
Deepak ChaharBowler
Faf du PlessisBatsman
Imran TahirBowler
N JagadeesanWicketkeeper
Karn SharmaBowler
Lungisani NgidiBowler
Mitchell SantnerAll Rounder
Ravisrinivasan Sai KishoreBowler
Ravindra JadejaAll Rounder
Robin UthappaBatsman
Ruturaj GaikwadBatsman
Sam CurranAll Rounder
Shardul ThakurBowler
Suresh RainaBatsman
Moeen AliAll Rounder
Krishnappa GowthamAll Rounder
Cheteshwar PujaraBatsman
M Harishanker ReddyBowler
C Hari NishanthBatsman
K. Bhagath VarmaAll Rounder
Jason BehrendorffBowler
super kings squad in IPL 2021

History Record of Chennai super kings squad

The team leader of the kings squad is Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Under his leadership, the team reached the playoffs 10 times out of 11 games they played. CSK has owned 3 Indian Premier League titles since the beginning. Also, the squad remained runner-up 4 times in IPL history. Let’s get into further record details of Chennai super kings.

  • In 2008, it was the beginning of team development. However, prominent players such as Muttiah Muralitharan, Michael Hussey, and captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the hearts with extraordinary performances. The team reached to finale due to the great hard work of the entire squad but could not succeed to get the title.
  • 2009 was a little unfortunate year for Super Kings as they could not win the finals.
  • In 2010, not only the CSK reached again to the finale but this time they also owned the IPL first title.  The team won the finale by defeating Mumbai Indians.
  • 2011 was a subsequent winning year for the CSK. They retained its title in IPL and it was rare to see a team winning one after another in two tournaments. 
  • In 2012, Chennai kings again reached the finale. It was near to make a winning hat trick but Kolkata Knight Riders grabbed away the chance.
  • 2013 was another setback as the team reached the finale but could never win the trophy. However, similar to the previous year the CSK played magnificently.
  • In 2014, again the squad failed to reach the finals. However, in 2015 the team made it to the final tournament but failed to win the first title.

Team suspension and comeback

  • 2016 and 2017 were the worst years for Chennai Super Kings as the team was suspended due to match-fixing allegations.
  • However, in 2018, the team made a comeback that was indeed glorious. Super Kings won its third IPL title right after coming back to the game.
  • In 2019 the CSK team again reached in playoffs but failed to win the title.
  • In 2020 first time in history the CSK could not reach the semifinals.
  • This time in 2021, it seems that the team has learned from its mistakes and made significant changes in the squad. The management has added leading players such as Moeen Ali and Krishnappa Gowtham to the team. Fans are quite optimistic for Super Kings Performance in IPL 2021.

Best players of Super Kings

The team have some record breaking players who have potential to win the tournament. Many skilful and experienced players are the part of this squad. Let’s know about the team’s strength in detail.

Best players of Super Kings
Best players of Super Kings

1- Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Captain of Chennai super kings squad

Dhoni is not only the captain but the backbone of the Super Kings. Due to his leadership and management team was able to reach the final in all seasons except one. As far as everything goes well, there are chances that Dhoni can help his squad to win the tournament again.

2- Suresh Raina

Raina is one of the most credible batsmen on this team. He has mad highest score from CSK in IPL. From the beginning till now he performed in every match for super kings. He is having multiple records as a batsman in cricket history. CSK’s fans are expecting a great performance from him in the upcoming IPL 2021.

3- Deepak Chahar

If we talk about the most competent bowler of super kings, Deepak is one of them. He usually plays in the first seven overs as he can easily handle a new ball and bowl out the batsmen early.  He is internationally popular as a brilliant new ball bowler of IPL. MS Dhoni much relies on him for bowling out the batsmen in the match.

4- Faf du Plessis

Fielding is another Important aspect of winning the match. As for the matter of fielding, super kings are blessed with Plessis. He is the former Proteas captain who is proving his skills a sin in IPL. Also, he is the frontier defense of the team when it comes to secure the ball boundaries. His sports abilities and years of experience is the core strength of Chennai super kings squad. Due to his admirable skills,  became part of CSK since the beginning.

5- Lungi Ngidi

The team has all the strong players in every field including wicket keeping. For strengthening the wicket side, the Chennai Super Kings squad relies on Lungi. He provides a reliable pace for bounce-off wickets. His pace attack makes him a core performer of the match.

Match schedule of Chennai Super Kings

  • Chennai Super Kings VS Mumbai Indians
  • SUN, 19 SEP 2021, 7:00 PM
  • Dubai (DSC)
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore VS Chennai Super Kings
  • FRI, 24 SEP 2021, 7:00 PM
  • Sharjah
  • Chennai Super Kings VS Kolkata Knight Riders
  • SUN, 26 SEP 2021, 3:00 PM
  • Abu Dhabi
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad VS Chennai Super Kings
  • THU, 30 SEP 2021, 7:00 PM
  • Sharjah
  • Rajasthan Royals VS Chennai Super King
  • SAT, 02 OCT 2021, 7:00 PM
  • Abu Dhabi
  • Delhi Capitals VS Chennai Super Kings
  • MON, 04 OCT 2021, 7:00 PM
  • Dubai
  • Chennai Super Kings VS Punjab Kings
  • THU, 07 OCT 2021, 3:00 PM
  • Dubai

Stay tuned for more updates regarding IPL teams and tournament updates. Let’s know in comment what do you think which IPL team will be the winner?

Also read: ICC World T20 schedule 2021 | Teams, Groups, Venue, and All

About the Author:

Aneeqa Iqbal

Former team member of
More about Aneeqa Iqbal...

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *